Problem with Topfield TBC-5000 / Reboot on USB access

Spezielle Fragen zur DVB-T Version
pa4wdh
Vielfrager
Vielfrager

Problem with Topfield TBC-5000 / Reboot on USB access

Beitrag von pa4wdh » Sa 18. Jun 2016, 15:32

Hi All,

I'm sorry for posting here in English, but you really don't want me to try German :)
It has been quite some time since my last post here but i hope you're able to help me.

My DVB-T receiver is a Topfield TBC-5000 (Branded for Digitenne in The Netherlands), and so far is has been working perfectly.
Recently it started to have problems when it accesses the USB stick it uses for recordings. The first time this happened it was just after it was powered on, it reads the contents of the USB stick and during that it crashed and rebooted. Since i've been using that USB stick for a few years i thought it might have gone bad and bought a new one. Now it boots okay, but accessing the USB stick is still problematic. Most annoying are the crashes during recordings as this makes the recording useless.

I have tried to disconnect it from the mains power for a few minutes and performed a factory reset after that. That didn't solve the problem :(

Do you have any idea what could be wrong ?

Thanks in advance.

pa4wdh
Vielfrager
Vielfrager

AW: Problem with Topfield TBC-5000 / Reboot on USB access

Beitrag von pa4wdh » Mi 29. Jun 2016, 08:19

Any ideas ?

wohliks
Elko-Papst
Elko-Papst
Receivertyp: 2x VU+Duo4KSE; (no HD+)

Beitrag von wohliks » Mi 29. Jun 2016, 08:25

pa4wdh hat geschrieben:Any ideas ?
I don't know the internals of the TBC-5000 personally, but as many TF 5x00 PVRs suffer from bad electrolyte capacitors in the power supply circuit, I would suggest to check the power supply voltages.

Possibly your Toppy needs a little "holiday" in a radio/TV-Workshop for replacement of some electrolyte capacitors...

Here's something to read about this: Click! ...hoping your Toppi has the same power supply as the satellite models...